Tumor Type

United Kingdom
Esophageal Cancer - Esophageal adenocarcinoma
OCCAMS  HTML Heartburn Cancer Awareness & Support  HTML CORE  HTML Macmillan Cancer Support  HTML Oesophageal Patients Association  HTML British Society of Gastroenterology  HTML
Project Profile
Funding Organizations
United Kingdom: Cancer Research UK
Research Organizations
Research Activities
Publication Policy

1:   ICGC Goals, Structure, Policies and Guidelines Section E.3 - Publication Policy HTML 
2:   Template Letters to Facilitate Communications HTML 
to ensure appropriate dialogue between data users and generators and for authors to contact ICGC members and editors
Clinic & Pathology

United Kingdom: Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Trust
MRC Cancer Cell Unit
Sequencing & Analysis

United Kingdom: Cambridge Research Institute
Complementary Studies

Data Storage, Analysis & Management

United Kingdom: Cambridge Research Institute
Project Summary

The esophageal project will focus on adenocarcinoma which is increasing in incidence in the UK and other developed countries and has a very poor outcome. The primary aims of this project are to deeply sequence tumour and normal genomic DNA (including the precursor condition Barrett’s esophagus when material is available) to provide a comprehensive catalogue of somatic mutations. This will be achieved through a UK-wide network of hospitals involved in a research collaboration called the OCCAMS consortium. The goal of this project is to use high quality clinical material with accurately annotated clinic-pathological, treatment and outcome data.

Principal Investigators

Cambridge Cancer Centre:
Rebecca Fitzgerald (overall lead)
Simon Tavare
Paul Edwards
Carlos Caldas
James Brenton
Richard Hardwick
Christopher Peters
Maria O’Donovan

University of Oxford Computing Laboratory:
Jim Davies (lead)

University of Southampton School of Medicine and Cancer Sciences:
Tim Underwood

Clinical Centres and Site Leads:
Birmingham (D. Alderson and O. Tucker)
Bristol (J. Blazeby)
Edinburgh (S. Paterson-Brown)
Glasgow (J. Going)
Gloucester (H. Barr)
Liverpool/Manchester (A. Yeng)
Nottingham (S. Parsons)
Oxford (N. Maynard)
Southampton (T. Underwood)

Lay Representative:
David Kirby Oesophageal Patients Association

Lead Jurisdiction